Film Reviews

The Mummy: Version 2.0?

Overall: 5/10

Disclaimer: I am by no means a film critic and everything I say is my subjective opinion.

Anybody who knows me knows that it is not difficult to impress me with cinema. Some clean CGI, some sort of story and some good acting are often enough for me to justify the time spent in watching.

The Mummy has had poor reception from critics unanimously since it has come out. 5.8/10 from IMDb; 34% from Metacritic and a mere 15% from Rotten Tomatoes. It may be due to the fact that this is a reboot of the original Mummy series which unfortunately I have not had the pleasure of watching and that reboots are often receipt to harsh criticism due to the nostalgia felt by many who were watching.

In this case, however, the judgement may be accurate in some sense. The plot was fairly simple, the acting was standard for the big names attached to that movie and the direction was average.

There were, of course, things that impressed me. The CGI was brilliant (although these days any films with graphics not amazing are considered sub-par in that regard) and the screenplay was excellent. There were many subtleties employed through different symbols which impressed me, along with an excellent eye for attention to detail.

Being someone who has a keen interest in mythology, the use of different aspects of mythology impressed me, especially the detail kept with Egyptian mythology. However, once again, attention to detail like that is something which is standard in the film industry and anything short of it would be simply inadequate.

Unfortunately, I don’t really have much more to say about this film, although I will be going to watch the rest of the Dark Universe series.

-K

Leave a Reply

